Exercising on your lunch hour

ShrimpPoBoy

Today I am excited to have a new sandwich at Platters! We are having Shrimp Po’boys, and in all this deliciousness, netting around 550 calories. Including a side of rivera blend vegetables. After my sandwich I am going to take a 15 minute walk, and on average a 200 pound person will burn about 120 calories in a 1 mile walk. For a 150 pound person it’s about 90 calories for that same 1 mile walk. By taking my 15 minute walk on my break, I can indulge in a snack of soft serve ice cream and still be in great shape for the rest of the day. My ice cream is about 110 calories for a 1/2 cup. If you’d like to join me, I am heading out on my walk at 1pm. My challenge for you all is to try and take a 15 minute walk during one of your breaks. It may seem like a small thing, but it all adds up!

2 responses to “Exercising on your lunch hour

  1. I’m surprised that this sandwich would be featured on here for students to eat at those shrimp look deep-fried and deep-fried and healthy are exact opposites of eachother. I think your chefs need some more training in what healthy cooking means.

  2. Well sometimes you can enjoy a not so healthy food, if you enjoy it in moderation. It’s also a great idea to do a little walking or jogging to burn off that not so healthy item. Chad, yes fried shrimp really isn’t a healthy item, but the excercising after was a good healthy choice, it’s all about balance.

Leave a Reply

