Recent Runner Girl

Hello blog readers 🙂 My name is Heather Faherty, I am currently the Catering Manager on campus and as if that doesn’t keep me busy enough, I am also working on my Masters degree in Project Management.  Between my love for food and lack of spare time eating healthy and working out has always been a bit of a challenge for me.  After starting my job 5 years ago I put on a few additional (completely unnecessary) pounds, so I decided something needed to be done.  I began working out with a trainer and found a really wonderful workout buddy named Toni.

Toni and I started going to the gym on our own and one day came up with a completely off the wall idea, we were going to run a 5K.  I had never been a runner, I LOATHED the thought of doing it,  but after much convincing I decided “why not”.  We trained for a 5K that took place in the middle of July, the heat index was over 100, by the time we finished I really thought I was literally going to die, but I had still done it.  While sitting on the lawn for the 5K after party and recapping the day another brilliant idea was born, we had accomplished this so what was stopping us from a half marathon?  That was just over a year and half ago and since then I have run 3 5K’s and 3 half marathons.

I currently still enjoy running, I suffered a minor burnout from it after my last half but have gotten back in to it as of recent.  My advice: 1) Find a good work out partner, time goes by quicker if you are enjoying who you are spending time with.  2) Find a cute pair of work out shoes, just because you are going to sweat does not mean you can’t look good,  and lastly 3) Make a goal and stick with it, remember your will power can either be the strongest or weakest thing in your body, it’s up to you to decide which it is.

3 responses to “Recent Runner Girl

Leave a Reply

