Girl on the Go

Hey Hey Hey readers and fellow blog buddies.  My name is Crystal Taylor, I’m the Food Service Manager for Greenwood Avenue Market and I supervise our BFF (Better, Fresher, Faster or Grab & Go) department.   I graduated from UW-Platteville in 2007 with a degree in Business Administration with an emphasis in Human Resources and Finance along with a minor in Public Relations.

While attending UW-Platteville, I was a student manager for the convenience store on campus and I was also employed at a Jellystone Park as their facility operations manager.  After graduation, I worked as a Finance Manager for a car dealership and returned to the university during the summer of 2010 at the Meal Access Office.  February 2012, I accepted the Food Service Manager position in Greenwood Ave. Market and have been enjoying the hustle and bustle the market brings to my daily life ever since.

During high school I was in sports and exercised on a regular basis.  When I arrived to college, I started eating at all hours of the day, while I was studying and not paying attention to how much I was actually consuming.  I didn’t take advantage of the PAC as much as I should have while being a college student…..enjoy the PAC while you can, it’s FREE!!!!  So the pounds started to accumulate during college and I really didn’t notice until after graduation (ok I didn’t really notice until my doctor said, “Crystal do you know you’ve gain 50 pounds since college?” )  I thought I was fairly healthy 2 years ago but I didn’t really notice until my doctor said something.

My husband, Josh, and I reside in rural Mineral Point with our two dogs, Coco(shitzu-poodle) and Apollo(yellow lab).  We enjoy everything the country life has to offer: hiking with our dogs, gardening, bow hunting, 4-wheeling and fishing.  Our schedules are VERY busy; Josh is currently finishing up his nursing degree while working evenings in the ER and as an EMT for the Mineral Point Rescue Squad.  My hours vary at the market so we find it difficult to eat and exercise within a normal schedule.

Josh and I started our weight loss journey together a year and half ago.  Since college and marriage we both were packing on the pounds and we knew it was time for a change. Even with our crazy lifestyles, we committed to each other that it was time for a change.  I began a workout class at Upland Hills Health in Dodgeville that meets on Tuesday and Thursday evenings.  We both joined the gym and we began using the myfitnesspal app on our phones.  The first week with using the app we just tracked what we normally ate and were both surprised by what we were consuming.  My husband was eating 3000+ calories per day.  It was an eye opening experience.  Since that time I’ve lost 30 pounds and would like to lose another 10-12 pounds to reach my goal weight.  I’m excited for this journey we are taking as a team and I hope more students will join in on this journey with us!  Good Luck Everyone!!!

– Crystal

Photo Attached in my breakfast: a 12oz peppermint hot chocolate and a Kellogg’s Special K Cereal Bar.  About 210 calories for Breakfast. Happy Monday!Image

One response to “Girl on the Go

Leave a Reply

