Hello!

Hello to everyone out there! My name is Holly Bernhardt, I am a chef at Glenview Commons. I’m fairly new to Glenview, but I’ve worked for Dining Services for over 2 years now.

Growing up I was always the kid who got picked on for being a little bit on the chubbier side.  I remember dreading the bus ride home after school, because three boys on the bus picked on me to no end.  I eventually won them over by cracking jokes, and dishing it back, however their constant jabs at my weight have stuck with me through most of my life.

Fast forward a ways from the school bus days of youth, I am 28 years old(29 in 2 months) a Mom of a 3 year old little Boy, A Wife of 5 years, a part time student at UW-Platteville, as well as a full time employee of the University.  Sometimes it seems like the twenty-four hours in a day are just not enough!  After having my son, the weight I gained while pregnant seem to melt right off, however the pounds did not stay off.  Maybe it’s my addictions to sweets, but the weight that came off so easily found it’s way back fairly quickly.  I swore up and down by my 30th birthday I’d be back to a comfortable weight, since that dirty thirty is quickly approaching, there’s no time like the present to get started!

My co-workers often times laughed at me when I told them what I had eaten for breakfast, that is if I had time to eat breakfast at all.  I’d often times on my way out the door grab a Mountain Dew, and an Oatmeal Cream Pie.  I usually wouldn’t make time to eat anything during the day, I’d drink about 3 espresso drinks during the day and then maybe eat something when I got home at 9 P.M.  Not the best diet!  Since agreeing to take part in this challenge, I have stopped drinking Soda all together( Mountain Dew free for 15 days folks!).  I do still enjoy an occasional espresso drink, but I tent to opt for the sugar free option, skim milk and no whipped cream.  I haven’t had an oatmeal cream pie in a long time either! It helps that my co-workers keep me inline and will slap my hands when I need it (well I told them to do that!)  I’ve also started to do some work out routines at home, that I did in the past, as well as slowly hitting the treadmill again.  I’m signing up for a few 5k’s again this summer, I ran two last year ( The Dirty Girl Mud Run & The Color Run). I’m also gearing up to ride a 100 mile bike ride in support of those battling MS in late August/September.  I was hoping to ride last year, but because of the extreme heat I didn’t get as much training in as I would’ve liked.

Because of my families busy schedule, My husband and I have found that it helps us to prep things before the week. We find ourselves less tempted to eat junk food if it’s just as easy to grab something good for you.  Last Sunday we baked chicken breasts, washed grapes, cut up strips of green peppers, prepped strawberries, and made some low fat dips.  We have to pack our little guy a lunch each day for him to take to daycare ,so it helped make that a breeze to have things pre-cut and already washed!  One of the dips I made could easily be made in your home/residence hall, 1/2 cup low fat vanilla yogurt, 1/2 cup creamy peanut butter and 1 TBS Honey, mix those ingredients together and voila! You’ve got a tasty lo-cal dip excellent with fruit(You can also purchase all these ingredients on campus!). I made some at work for some of my student employees to try. We had tested it with cut up apples, we also thought that celery sticks would taste great with this dip. All in all my student employees gave this easy dip a thumbs up!

One response to “Hello!

Leave a Reply

